top of page

What we stand for

G25 is committed to pursue a just, democratic, peaceful, tolerant, harmonious, moderate and progressive multi-racial, multi cultural, multi religious Malaysia through Islamic principles of Wassatiyah (moderation) and Maqasid Syariah (well-being of the people) that affirms justice, compassion, mercy, equity.

Malaysia is to be led by rule of law, good governance, respect for human rights and upholding the institution of the country.

We aim to ensure, raise awareness, promote that Syariah laws and civil laws should work in harmony and that the Syariah laws are used within its legal jurisdiction and limits as provided for by the federal and state division of powers.

There should be rational dialogues to inform people on how Islam is used for public law and policy that effects the multi ethnic and multi religious Malaysia and within the confines of the Federal Constitution, the supreme law of the nation.

We work in a consultative committee of experts to advise the government and facilitate amendments to the state Syariah laws, to align to the Federal Constitution and the spirit of Rukun Negara.

It is imperative to achieve a politically stable, economically progressive Malaysia and to be able to enjoy the harmony, tolerance, understanding and cooperation in this multi diverse country.

New Suhakam commissioners announced

PETALING JAYA: The government has announced the appointment of eight new commissioners for the Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (Suhakam).

The eight include some new faces, notably its new chairman, former diplomat Othman Hashim.

The announcement of the new lineup comes two days after Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Liew Vui Keong said a list of the proposed commissioners had been submitted to Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad a week ago.

Suhakam has been without commissioners since its chairman, Razali Ismail, resigned on April 16, almost two weeks before the end of his term on April 27.

The terms of the other seven commissioners ended on April 25.

In a statement today, the Prime Minister’s Office said five former commissioners, Mah Weng Kwai, Godfrey Gregory Joitol, Nik Salida Suhaila Nik Salleh, Jerald Joseph and Lok Yim Pheng had been reappointed.

Aside from Othman, the other new commissioners are retired Court of Appeal judge Mohd Hishamudin Yunus and Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia economist Madeline Berma. . “The appointments will take effect from April 27 for three years.”

It added the Yang di-Pertuan Agong has consented to Othman being appointed Suhakam chairman.



Yahoo News


MKini (Eng)

bottom of page